Oscar Legacy
Share |

The 85th Academy Awards (2013)

Held at the Dolby Theatre at the Hollywood & Highland Center on Sunday, February 24, 2013,
honoring movies released in 2012.

Acting Winners

Acting winners Daniel Day-Lewis ("Lincoln"), Jennifer Lawrence ("Silver Linings Playbook"), Anne Hathaway ("Les Misérables") and Christoph Waltz ("Django Unchained").

Best Picture

Argo Full Image


Stage 16 Pictures Production (Warner Bros.)

Best Foreign Language Film

Foreign Language Film - "Amour", Austria Full Image


Michael Haneke, director and writer of Foreign Language Film winner "Amour" (Austria).

Best Animated Feature Film

Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman, directors of "Brave" Full Image


Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman, directors of Animated Feature Film winner "Brave."

The Year

  • Ang Lee
  • Jennifer Lawrence
  • Quentin Tarantino
  • Sound Editing
  • Best Picture: “Argo”
    • “Argo” also won Academy Awards for Adapted Screenplay (Chris Terrio) and Film Editing (William Goldenberg). (View Image)
  • As one of the producers of "Argo," Best Picture recipient George Clooney became the only person to receive nominations for both lead and supporting acting categories, directing, original and adapted screenplay, and Best Picture. He is also the first person since Michael Douglas to win Oscars for acting and Best Picture.
  • With "Lincoln," Daniel Day-Lewis became the first three-time Best Actor winner with previous wins for "My Left Foot" (1989) and "There Will Be Blood" (2007). He is also the only non-American to win more than once in the category.
  • Director Ang Lee won his second Oscar for Directing for "Life of Pi," following his previous win for "Brokeback Mountain" at the 2006 ceremony. Backstage, Lee expressed his astonishment at encountering presenter Jack Nicholson at both shows.
  • A tie was declared for the sixth time in Oscar history, with both "Zero Dark Thirty" and "Skyfall" winning for Sound Editing. Mark Wahlberg presented both alongside his title costar from the film "Ted."
  • Seth MacFarlane hosted for the first time and presented an opening number featuring a number of guest appearances including Charlize Theron, Channing Tatum, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Daniel Radcliffe, Sally Field and William Shatner.
  • "Skyfall" became the first James Bond film to win two Oscars, and its theme song of the same title by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth was the first Bond song to win Original Song. The previous nominated 007 theme songs were "Live And Let Die," "Nobody Does It Better" and "For Your Eyes Only." (View Image)
  • The James Bond film franchise also celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2012, which the Oscars commemorated with a special tribute including a performance of "Goldfinger" by Dame Shirley Bassey.
  • Barbra Streisand sang on the Oscars for the first time since her performance of "Evergreen (Love Theme From A Star Is Born)" at the 49th Academy Awards in 1977. Her rendition of "The Way We Were" was dedicated to her late friend, Marvin Hamlisch, who wrote the music to the signature song.
  • On February 6, Queen Elizabeth II marked 60 years since her accession to the throne, launching a multinational celebration of her Diamond Jubilee.
  • Starting July 27, London hosted the 2012 Summer Olympics, featuring an elaborate opening ceremony directed by Oscar-winning "Slumdog Millionaire" director Danny Boyle.
  • NASA successfully landed Curiosity, the Mars Science Laboratory rover, on Mars on August 6.
  • In late October, Hurricane Sandy inflicted widespread damage to the United States's Eastern Seaboard and major areas of Canada, the Bahamas and the Caribbean.

Honorary Award

To Hal Needham, an innovator, mentor, and master technician who elevated his craft to an art and made the impossible look easy.

Honorary Award

To D.A. Pennebaker, who redefined the language of film and taught a generation of filmmakers to look to reality for inspiration.

Honorary Award

To George Stevens, Jr., a tireless champion of the arts in America and especially that most American of arts: the Hollywood film.

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award

To Jeffrey Katzenberg, who has led our community in enlightened philanthropy by his extraordinary example.

See all Nominees and Winners

Don't Show Again