Oscar Legacy
Share |

The 79th Academy Awards (2007)

Held at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center on Sunday, February 25, 2007,
honoring movies released in 2006.

Best Actress Helen Mirren in a scene from  "The Queen."

Best Actress Helen Mirren in a scene from "The Queen."

Best Picture

The Departed Full Image

"The Departed"

Warner Bros. Pictures Production; Warner Bros.

Best Supporting Actress

Best Supporting Actress Jennifer Hudson ("Dreamgirls"). Full Image

Jennifer Hudson

Best Supporting Actress Jennifer Hudson ("Dreamgirls").

Best Supporting Actor

Best Supporting Actor Alan Arkin ("Little Miss Sunshine"). Full Image

Alan Arkin

Best Supporting Actor Alan Arkin ("Little Miss Sunshine").

The Year

  • Martin Scorsese
  • Jennifer Hudson
  • Helen Mirren
  • Best Picture: “The Departed”
    • “The Departed” also won Academy Awards for Directing (Martin Scorsese), Film Editing (Thelma Schoonmaker), and Writing – Adapted Screenplay (William Monahan). 
  • After seven previous nominations, five of which were for directing, Martin Scorsese won his first Oscar for “The Departed.”
    • Steven Spielberg, George Lucas, and Francis Ford Coppola presented him with the award. (View Image)
  • Former U.S. Vice President Al Gore joined director Davis Guggenheim and others on stage when “An Inconvenient Truth,” in which Gore had appeared, was named the year’s Best Documentary Feature.
  • “An Inconvenient Truth” became the first documentary to also win in the Original Song category. Melissa Etheridge took home the Oscar for “I Need to Wake Up.”
  • Ellen DeGeneres was the host.
  • Meryl Streep received her 14th nomination, the most earned by any performer in the Academy’s history, this time for her lead performance in “The Devil Wears Prada.”
  • Peter O’Toole, nominated as Best Actor for “Venus,” was competing for the eighth time in that category, and for the eighth time he went home empty-handed as Forest Whitaker won the Oscar for “The Last King of Scotland.”
  • In January 2006, the Walt Disney Company announced its $7.4 billion purchase of Pixar Animation Studios.
  • On May 25, 2006, after a 56-day trial, Enron founder Kenneth Lay and former chief executive Jeffrey Skilling were found guilty of a combined total of 29 counts of fraud, conspiracy, bank fraud and insider trading. Skilling was sentenced to 24 years in prison for his part in the financial debacle, but Lay passed away on July 5th before he was sentenced.
  • In August 2006, the California State Senate passed Assembly Bill (AB) 32, also known as the Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006. The law, which was the first by a state to place a cap on greenhouse gases, called for a 25% reduction in carbon dioxide emissions statewide by 2020.
  • In August 2006, an outbreak of E. coli bacteria found in bagged spinach began that eventually killed at least three people and sickened 205 others in 26 states.
  • On September 4, 2006, 44-year-old Steve Irwin, Australia’s famed “Crocodile Hunter,” died from cardiac arrest after a stingray barb lodged in his heart while he was filming a television documentary on the Great Barrier Reef.
  • On September 5, 2006, Katie Couric made TV history with her debut as the first female solo anchor of a weekday network nightly news broadcast, “CBS Evening News with Katie Couric.”
  • In October 2006, New York Yankees pitcher Cory Lidle and his flight instructor were killed when their single-engine plane crashed into a 42-story Manhattan high-rise.
  • In November 2006, film mogul and noted art collector David Geffen sold No. 5, 1948, one of Jackson Pollock’s classic drip paintings, for approximately $140 million, making it the most expensive painting ever sold.
  • On November 5, 2006, after a year-long trial, former Iraqi leader Saddam Hussein and two other defendants were sentenced to death for killing 148 villagers and persecuting many others in the Shiite town of Dujail in 1982. Hussein was executed on January 6, 2007.

Honorary Award

To Ennio Morricone in recognition of his magnificent and multifaceted contributions to the art of film music.

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award

To Sherry Lansing, former chairman of Paramount Pictures.

See all Nominees and Winners

Don't Show Again