Oscar Legacy
Share |

The 22nd Academy Awards (1950)

Held at the RKO Pantages Theatre on Thursday, March 23, 1950,
honoring movies released in 1949.

Pantages Theater

22nd Academy Awards at the RKO Pantages Theatre.

Best Picture

The Great Ziegfeld Full Image

“All the King’s Men”

Robert Rossen Productions; Columbia.

Best Director and Screenplay

Joseph L. Mankiewicz and his wife, Rose Stradner. Full Image

Joseph L. Mankiewicz

Joseph L. Mankiewicz, winner, Directing and Writing (Screenplay) (“A Letter To Three Wives”), and his wife, Rose Stradner.

Special Effects

Willis O'Brien Full Image

Willis O’Brien

Technical Creator Willis O’Brien and his Oscar for Special Effects (“Mighty Joe Young”).

The Year

Your browser does not support this video player.
Mercedes McCambridge accepts her Academy Award from Ray Milland.

22nd Annual Academy Awards

Held at the RKO Pantages Theatre on Thursday, March 23, 1950.

  • Best Picture: “All the King’s Men”
    • “All the King’s Men” also won Academy Awards for Best Actor (Broderick Crawford) and Best Supporting Actress (Mercedes McCambridge).
      (View Image)
  • Paul Douglas was the master of ceremonies.
  • In Janurary 1949, the first Emmy Awards were presented at the Hollywood Athletic Club.
  • On February 10, 1949, Arthur Miller’s play Death of a Salesman, starring Lee J. Cobb, premiered in New York City.
  • On April 7, 1949, the Rodgers and Hammerstein musical South Pacific, starring Mary Martin and Ezio Pinza, opened on Broadway.
  • In June 1949, "Hopalong Cassidy," television’s first Western series, aired on NBC.
  • On October 1, 1949, the People’s Republic of China was formally established.
  • In November 1949, the ski resort in Squaw Valley, California opened and offered the first double chairlift in the western U.S.

Special Foreign Language Film Award

Italy in "The Bicycle Thief" – To "The Bicycle Thief" - voted by the Academy Board of Governors as the most outstanding foreign language film released in the United States during 1949.

Special Award

To Bobby Driscoll, as the outstanding juvenile actor of 1949.

Special Award

To Fred Astaire for his unique artistry and his contributions to the technique of musical pictures.

Special Award

To Cecil B. DeMille, distinguished motion picture pioneer, for 37 years of brilliant showmanship.

Special Award

To Jean Hersholt, for distinguished service to the motion picture industry.

See all Nominees and Winners

Don't Show Again