Skip to main content

Cheryl Boone Isaacs Re-Elected Academy President

Cheryl Boone Isaacs Re-Elected Academy President

Cheryl Boone Isaacs was re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Tuesday night (August 2) by the organization’s Board of Governors.

Also elected to officer positions by the Board:

  •  Jeffrey Kurland, First Vice President (chair, Awards and Events Committee)
  •  John Bailey, Vice President (chair, Preservation and History Committee)
  • Kathleen Kennedy, Vice President (chair, Museum Committee) 
  • Nancy Utley, Vice President (chair, Education and Outreach Committee)
  • Jim Gianopulos, Treasurer (chair, Finance Committee)
  • David Rubin, Secretary (chair, Membership and Administration Committee)

Boone Isaacs is beginning her fourth term as president and her 24th year as a governor representing the Marketing and Public Relations Branch.  Bailey, Gianopulos, Kennedy and Kurland were re-elected to their posts.  This will be the first officer stint for Rubin and Utley. 

Boone Isaacs heads CBI Enterprises, Inc., where she consults on film marketing efforts.  She is currently an adjunct professor at Chapman University’s Dodge College of Film and Media Arts and serves as a trustee of the American Film Institute.  In May she received an honorary Doctor of Arts degree from the Dodge College of Film and Media Arts.  She also received the 2016 Rosa Parks Humanitarian Award from the Southern Christian Leadership Conference of Southern California.  Over her career, Boone Isaacs has consulted on such films as “The Call,” “The Artist,” “The King’s Speech,” “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire,” “Spider-Man 2” and “Tupac: Resurrection.”  Boone Isaacs previously served as president of theatrical marketing for New Line Cinema, where she oversaw numerous box office successes, including “Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me” and “Rush Hour.”  Prior to joining New Line, she was executive vice president of worldwide publicity for Paramount Pictures, where she orchestrated publicity campaigns for the Best Picture winners “Forrest Gump” and “Braveheart.” 

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.

For a full listing of the Academy’s 2016-17 Board of Governors, click here.