Governors Awards

2017 GovAwards Honorees

The Governors Awards is an annual event celebrating awards conferred by the Academy's Board of Governors – the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and the Honorary Award. Recipients are announced each summer and honored at a dinner gala in November. Highlights from the event are incorporated into the year's Academy Awards show. 

The 2017 honorees are: Charles Burnett, Owen Roizman, Donald Sutherland and Agnès Varda. Check back for more information throughout the season.