Skip to main content


Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Three members added to Board of Governors

Seven members also added to Board committees


Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs today appointed three new governors to join the Academy’s 51-seat Board. Reginald Hudlin (Directors Branch), Gregory Nava (Writers Branch) and Jennifer Yuh Nelson (Short Films and Feature Animation Branch) were confirmed by the current Board members for three-year terms, effective immediately.  

“I’m proud of the steps we have taken to increase diversity,” said Boone Isaacs. "However, we know there is more to do as we move forward to make this a more inclusive organization.”

The Board also appointed additional Academy members to each of the six Board committees that provide oversight to specific Academy areas.  

  • Actor Gael García Bernal joins the Awards and Events Committee, chaired by First Vice President Jeffrey Kurland. 
  • Cinematographer Amy Vincent joins the Preservation and History Committee, chaired by Vice President John Bailey.
  • Producer Effie Brown joins the Museum Committee, chaired by Vice President Kathleen Kennedy.
  • Executive Marcus Hu and Animator Floyd Norman join the Education and Outreach Committee, chaired by Vice President Bill Kroyer.
  • Executive Vanessa Morrison joins the Finance Committee, chaired by Treasurer Jim Gianopulos. 
  • Producer Stephanie Allain joins the Membership and Administration Committee, chaired by Secretary Phil Robinson.


The Board also reaffirmed its January 21 resolution to make sure Academy voters are active in the motion picture industry. In the meeting, the Board decided that each branch executive committee will determine specific criteria for active voters based on the guidelines established in January.  Active voters are defined as: 

  • those who have worked in the motion picture industry in the last 10 years;
  • those who have worked anytime during three 10-year periods whether consecutive or not;
  • members who have won or been nominated for an Oscar®.


The branch executive committees will meet every two years—starting this spring—to review their members and determine any potential reclassifications. The committees also will adopt an appeals process for members who may lose their voting privileges.