Skip to main content



The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today announced that Daniel Fellman has been named governor of the Academy’s Executives Branch. Fellman will serve out the remainder of William Mechanic’s term which concludes on June 30, 2019. Mechanic announced his resignation from the Board on April 12.

Fellman returns to the Board after previously serving one term as governor from 2014-2017.

Per the Academy’s bylaws, should any vacancy occur in the Board of Governors because of the death, resignation or disqualification of a Governor before the end of that Governor’s term, that vacancy will be filled until the end of that Governor’s term by the second-place finisher for that position in the immediately preceding election for that position, or, if he or she is unable or unwilling to serve, by the next successive finisher for that position who is willing and able to serve.

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.  The Board of Governors sets the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission.

For a full list of Academy governors, click here.