Skip to main content

2004 Academy Nicholl Fellowships

2004 Nicholl Fellows

Six new screenwriters, two of whom wrote collaboratively, have been selected as recipients of the 2004 Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Each writer or writing team received the first installment of the prestigious fellowship's $30,000 prize money at a gala dinner in Beverly Hills on November 11. Academy Award winner Ed Zwick was the keynote speaker at the dinner.

Nicholl Fellows



Sean Mahoney Fenian's Trace

Daniel Lawrence               The Gaza Golem

Doug Davidson  Letter Quest

Whit Rummel    The Secret Boy

John Sinclair and Nova Jacobs     Split Infinity



This is the second consecutive year that a script written by a team earned its writers a fellowship; collaborative efforts were first allowed into the competition in 2001. The program began in 1985.