Skip to main content

2011 Student Academy Awards Memorable Moments

2011 Student Academy Awards Memorable Moments

Twelve students from nine U.S. colleges and universities and three students from outside the U.S. have been selected as winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 38th Annual Student Academy Awards competition.  The student filmmakers were  brought to Los Angeles for a week of industry-related activities and social events that will culminate on the awards ceremony  Saturday, June 11, at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Academy members viewed these films at special screenings to determine the winners’ placements – Gold, Silver or Bronze – which will not be revealed until the June 11 ceremony.  Gold Medal award winners receive cash grants of $5,000, Silver Medal award winners receive $3,000 and Bronze Medal award winners receive $2,000.

The U.S. students first competed in one of three regional competitions.  Each region is permitted to send to the Academy up to three finalists in each of the four categories.  Academy members then screened the finalists’ films and voted to select the winners.  The foreign students are selected from a pool of 52 entries from 32 countries.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level.  Past Student Academy Award® winners have gone on to receive 43 Oscar® nominations and have won or shared eight awards.  At the 83rd Academy Awards earlier this year, 2010 Student Academy Award winner Luke Matheny took home the Oscar for Live Action Short Film for “God of Love.”  Tanel Toom, another 2010 Student Academy Award winner, also was nominated in the Live Action Short Film category for “The Confession,” and John Lasseter, a 1979 and 1980 Student Academy Award winner, was a nominee in the Adapted Screenplay category for “Toy Story 3.”