Rules & Eligibility for the Academy Awards



87th Academy Awards Rules


Documentary Awards - Feature

Documentary Awards - Short Subject

Short Film Awards


The entire list of rules for the 87th Academy Awards will be posted here in June.




Browse rules for the 86th Academy Awards

87th Academy Awards Timeline

Saturday, November 8, 2014

The Governors Awards

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Official Screen Credits and music submissions due

Monday, December 29, 2014

Nominations voting begins 8 a.m. PT

Thursday, January 8, 2015

Nominations voting ends 5 p.m. PT

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Oscar nominations announced

Monday, February 2, 2015

Oscar Nominees Luncheon

Friday, February 6, 2015

Final voting begins 8 a.m. PT

Saturday, February 7, 2015

Scientific and Technical Awards

Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Final voting ends 5 p.m. PT

Oscar Sunday, February 22, 2015

87th Academy Awards begins 7 p.m. ET/ 4 p.m. PT

Don't Show Again