John A. Bonner Medal of Commendation

David S. Inglish

The Medal of Commendation is awarded by the Academy Board of Governors upon the recommendation of the Scientific and Technical Awards Committee. It is given “in appreciation for outstanding service and dedication in upholding the high standards of the Academy.”

The first Medal of Commendation was awarded in 1977. It is not necessarily given every year.

In 1997, the Board of Governors voted to name the medal in honor of sound engineer John A. Bonner, who had been director of special projects at Warner Hollywood Studios until his death in 1996. In 1994, Bonner himself was the last person to receive the Medal of Commendation before his name was attached.

“No one better represents the concept of service and dedication to the Academy than John Bonner,” said then-Academy President Arthur Hiller. “John was dedicated to the Academy for more than 30 years. His devotion to the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater was legendary and his commitment to the Academy was simply extraordinary.”

Bonner served as an Academy Governor representing the Sound Branch and as chair of the Scientific and Technical Awards Committee and the Theater Sound Inspection Committee for many years.

John A. Bonner Medal of Commendation

John A. Bonner Award Recipients

2013 (86th) – Charles Marburg

2012 (85th) – Bill Taylor

2011 (84th) – Jonathan Erland

2010 (83rd) – Denny Clairmont

2008 (81st) – Mark Kimball

2007 (80th) – David Inglish

2006 (79th) – Richard Edlund

2005 (78th) – Don Hall

2003 (76th) – Douglass Greenfield

2002 (75th) – Curt Behlmer & Richard Glickman

2001 (74th) – Ray Feeney

2000 (73rd) – N. Paul Kenworthy, Jr.

1999 (72nd) – Edmund M. DiGiulio & Takuo Miyagishima

1998 (71st) – David W. Gray

1997 (70th) – Pete Clark

1996 (69th) – Volker Bahnemann & Burton (Bud) Stone

1994 (67th) – John A. Bonner

1992 (65th) – Petro Vlahos

1991 (64th) – Richard J. Stumpf & Joseph Westheimer

1990 (63rd) – Roderick T. Ryan, Don Trumbull & Geoffrey H. Williamson

1986 (59th) – E. M. (Al) Lewis

1985 (58th) – John H. Whitney, Sr.

1980 (53rd) – Fred Hynes

1979 (52nd) – Charles G. Clarke & John G. Frayne

1978 (51st) – John O. Aalberg, Linwood G. Dunn, Loren L. Ryder & Waldon O. Watson

1977 (50th) – Gordon E. Sawyer & Sidney Paul Solow

Don't Show Again