Board of Governors

Three governors from each of the Academy’s 17 branches are elected to serve for a three-year term.  Governors may serve a maximum of three consecutive three-year terms (nine years).
Governors attend several board meetings each year.  They are responsible for the Academy and its overall strategic direction.  It is not a requirement that Governors live in Southern California.
Governors also may serve on additional Academy committees including: Awards Rules, Awards Review, Finance and General Membership.
  • Each governor is automatically appointed to his or her branch’s Executive Committee.  These committees meet at least once a year to review candidates for membership and, where applicable, debate and approve the awards rules.
Governors represent their branch and the Academy at events including the Governors Awards, the Scientific and Technical Awards, the Student Academy Awards, the Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting Awards, the Oscars and the Governors Ball. 
CEO Dawn Hudson oversees a staff of more than 300 who conduct the Academy's day-to-day business.

Loading Additional Content...