The Governors Awards

Share |

2013 Honorees

The Governors Awards is an annual event celebrating awards conferred by the Academy's Board of Governors – the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and the Honorary Award. Recipients are announced each summer and honored at a dinner gala in November. Highlights from the event are incorporated into the year's Academy Awards show.

2013 Honorees

Governors Awards 2013

2013 Governors Awards

The imagination, creativity, skill and compassion of the movie industry were celebrated at the Academy's fifth annual Governors Awards held on November 16, 2013 at the Hollywood & Highland Center's Ray Dolby Ballroom.


Past Honorees

Governors Awards 2012

2012 Governors Awards

On November 30, 2012, famous friends and colleagues gathered for an unforgettable evening of laughter, fun, and affection to celebrate the indelible contributions of honorees D.A. Pennebaker, George Stevens Jr., Hal Needham, and Jeffrey Katzenberg to filmmaking and the world.


2011 Governors Awards

2010 Governors Awards

2009 Governors Awards

Video Highlights

See a full list of Governors Awards Honorees

About the Awards

Oscar Statuettes

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, an Oscar statuette, is given to an "individual in the motion picture industry whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry."


Honorary Award

Honorary Awards are given for lifetime achievements, exceptional contributions to motion picture arts and sciences, and outstanding service to the Academy.


The History of the Governors Awards

Don't Show Again