Scientific & Engineering Award

The Scientific and Engineering Award is given for achievements that produce a definite influence on the advancement of the motion picture industry. Achievements need not have been developed and introduced during the award year.

The Scientific and Engineering Award is a 24k gold plated award attached to a rectangular base. The casting has a representation of the Oscar statuette in bas relief to one side of a plaque bearing the name of the award. Affixed to the base is a plate engraved with a description of the achievement and the names of the honorees.

Featured Scientific & Engineering Award Recipients

At the Scientific and Technical Awards presentation held February 9, 2008, the recipients of Scientific and Engineering Awards were:

Dr. Doug Roble, Nafees Bin Zafar and Ryo Sakaguchi for the development of the fluid simulation system at Digital Domain. This influential and flexible production-proven system incorporates innovative algorithms and refined adaptations of published methods to achieve large-scale water effects.

Nick Rasmussen, Ron Fedkiw and Frank Losasso Petterson for the development of the Industrial Light & Magic (ILM) fluid simulation system. This production-proven simulation system achieves large-scale water effects within ILM’s Zeno framework. It includes integrating particle level sets, parallel computation, and tools that enable the artistic direction of the results.

Don't Show Again