Oscar Statuette & Other Academy Awards

Oscar Statuettes

The Oscar Statuette

Although it measures just 13½ inches high, the Oscar statuette stands tall as the motion picture industry’s greatest honor. Officially named the Academy Award® of Merit, the Oscar is given in recognition of the highest level of achievement in moviemaking.

Learn more about the Oscar statuette’s origins and legacy.

In addition to the regular awards conferred annually by vote of the membership, the Academy’s Board of Governors is empowered to bestow numerous other honors including Scientific and Technical Awards, Honorary Awards and Special Achievement Awards.

Don't Show Again