Academy Branches

Members of the Academy represent 17 general areas – actors, animators and short film makers, art directors and costume designers, cinematographers, composers and songwriters, documentary filmmakers, directors, executives, film editors, makeup artists and hairstylists, producers, public relations specialists, sound artists and engineers, visual effects experts and writers.

See a short list of a few members from each branch


Actors Branch

Chair: Annette Bening

Casting Directors Branch

Chair: David Rubin

Cinematographers Branch

Chair: Richard P. Crudo

Costume Designers Branch

Chair: Jeffrey Kurland

Designers Branch

Chair: Jim Bissell

Directors Branch

Chair: Lisa Cholodenko

Documentary Branch

Chair: Rob Epstein

Executives Branch

Chair: Dick Cook

Film Editors Branch

Chair: Mark Goldblatt

Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch

Chair: Leonard Engelman

Music Branch

Chair: Charles Fox

Producers Branch

Chair: Gale Anne Hurd

Public Relations Branch

Chair: Rob Friedman

Short Films and Feature Animation Branch

Jon Bloom

Sound Branch

Chair: Curt Behlmer

Visual Effects Branch

Chair: Craig Barron

Writers Branch

Chair: Phil Robinson

Don't Show Again