The Oscar Show 2014: In Memorium

The members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences are the organization's greatest asset, an assemblage of the finest artists and craftspersons of the art form.

On this page the Academy pays homage to those members who have passed away this year. Academy Awards and nominations are noted (a win is indicated by an asterisk) as well as service on the Academy's Board of Governors. To see the full gallery from the 2017 Oscars click here.

Harold P. Archinal – Executives Branch

Steven Artmont – Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch

Michael Ballhaus – Cinematographers Branch
1987 (60th) Cinematography – “Broadcast News”
1989 (62nd) Cinematography – “The Fabulous Baker Boys”
2002 (75th) Cinematography – “Gangs of New York”

Ron Berkeley – Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch

William Peter Blatty – Writers Branch
1973 (46th) Best Picture – “The Exorcist”
1973 (46th) *Writing (Screenplay based on material from another medium) – “The Exorcist”

Edward Blau – Associates

Powers Boothe – Actors Branch

Philip M. Breen – Executives Branch

Bobby Byrne – Cinematographers Branch

Joel Coler – Public Relations Branch

Michael Connors – Actors Branch

Jonathan Demme – Directors Branch
1991 (64th) *Directing – “The Silence of the Lambs”

Miguel Ferrer – Actors Branch

Dick Gautier – Actors Branch

John Gay – Writers Branch
1958 (31st) Writing (Screenplay based on material from another medium) – “Separate Tables”

Don Gordon – Actors Branch

Brad Grey – Executives Branch

Jack H. Harris – Producers Branch

Glenne Headly – Actors Branch

John Heyman – Producers Branch

Gerald Hirschfeld – Cinematographers Branch

John Hurt – Actors Branch
1978 (51st) Actor in a Supporting Role – “Midnight Express”
1980 (53rd) Actor in a Leading Role – “The Elephant Man”

Joe Hyams – Public Relations Branch

Fred J. Koenekamp – Cinematographers Branch
1970 (43rd) Cinematography – “Patton”
1974 (47th) *Cinematography – “The Towering Inferno”
1977 (50th) Cinematography – “Islands in the Stream”

Harold C. Landaker – Sound Branch
1981 (54th) *Scientific or Technical Award (Technical Achievement Award)
1986 (59th) *Scientific or Technical Award (Technical Achievement Award)

Les Lazarowitz – Sound Branch
1980 (53rd) Sound – “Raging Bull”
1982 (55th) Sound – “Tootsie”

Earl Lestz – Members-at-Large

Curt Lowens – Actors Branch

Rodger E. Maus – Designers Branch
1982 (55th) Art Direction – “Victor/Victoria”

Dina Merrill – Actors Branch

Robert Ellis Miller – Directors Branch

Mary Tyler Moore – Actors Branch
1980 (53rd) Actress in a Leading Role – “Ordinary People”

Roger Moore – Actors Branch

Fred Mound – Executives Branch

Bill Paxton – Actors Branch

Andrew Jerrold Perenchio – Associates

Richard Portman – Sound Branch
1971 (44th) Sound – “Kotch”
1972 (45th) Sound – “The Candidate”
1972 (45th) Sound – “The Godfather”
1973 (46th) Sound – “The Day of the Dolphin”
1973 (46th) Sound – “Paper Moon”
1974 (47th) Sound – “Young Frankenstein”
1975 (48th) Sound – “Funny Lady”
1978 (51st) *Sound – “The Deer Hunter”
1980 (53rd) Sound – “Coal Miner's Daughter”
1981 (54th) Sound – “On Golden Pond”
1984 (57th) Sound – “The River”

Don Rickles – Actors Branch

Rita Riggs – Costume Designers Branch

Stephen Roberts – Executives Branch

Richard A. Roth – Producers Branch

Jean Rouverol Butler – Writers Branch

David H. Shepard – Members-at-Large

Lawrence Silk – Documentary Branch

Roger Smith – Actors Branch

Frank Tidy – Cinematographers Branch

Alan Weiss – Writers Branch

Francine York – Actors Branch