THE HISTORY AND STRUCTURE OF THE ACADEMY OF MOTION PICTURE ARTS AND SCIENCES

The Academy is an artist-driven organization that advances the art and science of motion pictures. The Academy's mission is to preserve the past, honor the present, and shape the future of film. It is composed of more than 7,000 members who are distinguished by their achievements in the movie industry.

The Academy builds cooperation among creative leaders for cultural, preservation, educational and technological progress; recognizes outstanding achievements through its Oscar show, the world's most prestigious entertainment event; encourages cooperation on technical research and improvement of methods and equipment; provides a common forum and meeting ground for various motion picture-related crafts; represents the viewpoint of actual creators of the motion picture; and fosters educational activities for the professional community and the public.

The Academy was organized in May 1927 as a nonprofit corporation. Its original 36 members included production executives and film luminaries of the time.

Since 1975, the Academy has been headquartered at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills, in a seven-story building that includes the 1,010-seat state-of-the-art Samuel Goldwyn Theater. The Margaret Herrick Library is housed in the historic building that was originally the Beverly Hills Water Treatment Plant on South La Cienega Boulevard. The Academy Film Archive, the Academy's Science and Technology Council, the Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting program and the 286-seat Linwood Dunn Theater are located in the former Don Lee-Mutual Broadcasting studios building on Vine Street in Hollywood.

Scheduled to open in 2018, the Academy Museum will be located next to the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) in the historic Wilshire May Company building. Designed by Pritzker Prize-winning architect Renzo Piano and Zoltan Pali, the Academy Museum will contain more than 290,000 square feet of state-of-the-art galleries, exhibition spaces, theaters, educational areas, and special event spaces. During the Academy's 75th anniversary celebration in 2002, the La Cienega Boulevard building was officially named the Fairbanks Center for Motion Picture Study in honor of the Academy's first president, and the Vine Street building was dedicated as the Pickford Center for Motion Picture Study in honor of Academy co-founder Mary Pickford.

Membership in the Academy is by invitation of the Board of Governors and is limited to those who have distinguished themselves in the motion picture industry. The criteria for admittance include: a body of work in motion pictures that reflects the high standards of the Academy, an achievement of unique distinction, or making an outstanding contribution to the motion picture arts or sciences.

Members representing the many professional areas within the motion picture industry are organized into 17 branches – Actors, Casting Directors, Costume Designers, Cinematographers, Designers (which includes production designers and set decorators), Directors, Documentary, Executives, Film Editors, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists, Music, Producers, Public Relations, Short Films and Feature Animation, Sound, Visual Effects and Writers.

Corporate management, control and general policies are administered by the Board of Governors, comprised of representatives from the 17 branches. Governors are elected for threeyear terms and may serve up to three consecutive terms before taking a one-year mandatory break.

Officers are elected from among the governors for one-year terms. The elected positions are president, first vice president, three vice presidents, treasurer and secretary. Officers may serve up to four consecutive one-year terms in the same office. Cheryl Boone Isaacs was reelected president in August 2016.

The Board of Governors appoints a chief executive officer to supervise the administrative activities of the Academy. CEO Dawn Hudson and a staff of more than 300 currently conduct the Academy's day-to-day business.

OSCAR[®], OSCARS[®], ACADEMY AWARDS[®], ACADEMY AWARD[®], A.M.P.A.S.[®] and "OSCAR NIGHT[®] are registered trademarks, and the OSCAR statuette is a registered trademark and copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.