Oscar®-Winning Screenwriter David Seidler to Keynote 2011 Nicholl Fellowships Presentation

Beverly Hills, CA (October 26, 2011) – Oscar-winning writer David Seidler will deliver the keynote address at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 26th annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting presentation on Thursday, November 3, at the Beverly Wilshire hotel.

Seidler became a first-time Academy Award® nominee and winner with his original screenplay for the 2010 Best Picture winner "The King’s Speech."  He is currently working on "The Lady Who Went Too Far" and "Games of 1940."

The Academy annually awards up to five Nicholl fellowships of $30,000 each. This year’s recipients are:

  • Chris Bessounian & Tianna Langham, Los Angeles, Calif., "Guns and Saris"
  • Dion Cook, Altus, Okla., "Cutter"
  • John MacInnes, Los Angeles, Calif., "Outside the Wire"
  • Matthew Murphy, Culver City, Calif., "Unicorn"
  • Abel Vang & Burlee Vang, Fresno, Calif., "The Tiger’s Child"

Including this year’s winners, 123 fellowships have been awarded since the program’s inception in 1985.

Fellowship recipients are each expected to complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year. The Academy acquires no rights to the works of the Nicholl fellows and does not involve itself commercially in any way with their completed scripts.

Contact Information

Tarrah Curtis

Don't Show Again