Jennifer Garner and John Musker to Present at 2011 Student Academy Awards®

Beverly Hills, CA (June 9, 2011) - Jennifer Garner and Oscar-nominated animator John Musker have been tapped to present at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 38th Annual Student Academy Awards ceremony on Saturday, June 11, at 6 p.m., at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.  The awards ceremony is the culmination of a week of industry-related activities and social events that the Academy is hosting for the 15 students from the U.S. and abroad who have been selected as winners this year.

Garner was most recently seen in “Arthur,” released earlier this year.  Her other acting credits include “Valentine’s Day,” “Juno” and “13 Going on 30.”  She will next be seen in “The Odd Life of Timothy Green,” due out later this year.

Musker received an Oscar nomination in 2009 for the animated feature “The Princess and the Frog.”  His other credits include “Treasure Planet,” “Aladdin” and “The Little Mermaid,” all of which he co-wrote and co-directed.

A complete list of this year’s winners can be found at:

While all winners know they will each receive an award, their placement – Gold, Silver or Bronze – will not be revealed until the June 11 ceremony.  Gold Medal award winners receive cash grants of $5,000, Silver Medal award winners receive $3,000 and Bronze Medal award winners receive $2,000. 

The U.S. students first competed in one of three regional competitions.  Each region is permitted to send to the Academy up to three finalists in each of four categories: Alternative, Animation, Documentary and Narrative.  Academy members then screened the finalists’ films and voted to select the winners.  The winners in the Foreign Film category were selected by Academy members at special voting screenings from a pool of 52 entries from 32 countries.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level.  Past Student Academy Award® winners have gone on to receive 43 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards.  At the 83rd Academy Awards earlier this year, 2010 Student Academy Award winner Luke Matheny took home the Oscar for Live Action Short Film for “God of Love.”  Tanel Toom, another 2010 Student Academy Award winner, also was nominated in the Live Action Short Film category for “The Confession,” and John Lasseter, a 1979 and 1980 Student Academy Award winner, was a nominee in the Adapted Screenplay category for “Toy Story 3.”

The 38th Annual Student Academy Awards ceremony on June 11 is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required.  Tickets may be obtained online at, in person at the Academy box office or by mail.  The Samuel Goldwyn Theater is located at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills.  For more information, call (310) 247-3600.

Contact Information

For more information, contact

Tarrah Lee Curtis

Don't Show Again