Don Mischer Productions on Board for 2010 Governors Awards

Beverly Hills, CA (April 12, 2010) — Producer Sid Ganis announced today that Don Mischer Productions will join him in producing the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Second Annual Governors Awards.  One or more of the Academy’s highest honors – the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and the Honorary Award – will be presented at the event, set for Saturday, November 13.  Don Mischer was part of the inaugural Governors Awards team; this year he will executive produce the event for the Academy.

“Don is the master of live events,” said Ganis.  “He and his team of pros will help make the evening seamless, exciting and unforgettable for both the honorees and guests.”

Mischer is a veteran television producer and director who has been recognized with 15 Emmy® Awards and a record 10 Directors Guild of America Awards.  With a career spanning more than three decades, his credits include the opening and closing ceremonies of the 2002 Winter Olympic Games in Salt Lake City, the 2004 Democratic National Convention, Super Bowl halftime shows starring Bruce Springsteen, Paul McCartney, the Rolling Stones and Prince, and “We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial.”

Mischer is currently working on the 62nd Primetime Emmy Awards, which will air live on August 29; this will be his 10th turn as executive producer of the Emmys.

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and the Honorary Award are Oscar® statuettes; the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award is a bust of its namesake.  The most recent recipients of Honorary Awards were Lauren Bacall, Roger Corman and Gordon Willis; John Calley was the most recent recipient of the Thalberg Award.

Contact Information

For more information, contact

Teni Melidonian

Don't Show Again