Applications for 2009 Student Academy Awards® Now Available

Beverly Hills, CA (November 21, 2008) — Applications for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 36th Student Academy Awards competition are now available. The Student Academy Awards is a national annual competition designed to recognize and encourage promising new filmmakers.

Applications and a complete list of rules are available online at All entry forms for the 2009 Student Academy Awards must be submitted electronically. Additionally, filmmakers must send a DVD of their film and a hard copy of their signed application to the appropriate regional coordinator.

The deadline for U.S. student filmmakers to submit their films for consideration in the 2009 Student Academy Awards is Wednesday, April 1, 2009.

Complete entries must be received by the deadline to be considered (it is not a postmark deadline).

Each year more than 500 college and university film students from all over the country compete for Student Academy Awards and the accompanying cash grants. Films are judged by Academy members in four categories: Animation, Documentary, Narrative and Alternative.

Past Student Academy Award® winners include Spike Lee, Trey Parker, Bob Saget and Oscar® winners John Lasseter and Robert Zemeckis.

At the 80th Academy Awards, honoring the films of 2007, two former Student Academy Award winners received Oscar nominations in the Documentary Short Subject category: James Longley for “Sari’s Mother” and Amanda Micheli (with Isabel Vega) for “La Corona (The Crown).” Over the years, former Student Academy Award winners have garnered a total of 35 Oscar nominations and have won or shared six awards.

The 36th Student Academy Awards will be presented on Saturday, June 13, 2009, at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater. The ceremony is free and open to the public.

Additional information about the Student Academy Awards can be obtained by contacting Awards Administrator Rich Miller via phone at (310) 247-3000, ext. 131, or by visiting

Contact Information

For more information, contact

Tarrah Curtis
(310) 247-3090

Related Links

Student Academy Awards

Don't Show Again