George Pal Lecture on Fantasy Film

Joe Dante and Panelists

Established in 1980 in memory of the producer, director and special effects wizard whose science fiction and fantasy films included “Destination Moon,” “The War of the Worlds,” “The Time Machine,” “7 Faces of Dr. Lao” and other classics, the George Pal Lecture was designed to feature a producer, director, writer or other creative person who would discuss the making of science fiction or fantasy films, either in general or with regard to a specific film.

Ray Bradbury, the author of “Fahrenheit 451” and other famous fantasies, delivered the first George Pal Lecture in 1980.

More About George Pal

Pal was born in Hungary and began his film career in Budapest, then Berlin and Holland. He came to Hollywood in 1940 and produced the Puppetoons series for Paramount, utilizing a new technique for which he received an Academy Special Award (a plaque) in 1943. “Destination Moon” received an Oscar for special effects in 1950, awarded to Pal’s company, George Pal Productions. Pal died on May 2, 1980.

George Pal

George Pal

George Pal Lectures

  • A Tribute to Dick Smith: The Godfather of Special Makeup Effects, 2009
    Hosted by Rick Baker, with Linda Blair, Hal Holbrook, Greg Cannom, Andrew Clement, Mike Elizalde, Carl Fullerton, Kazuhiro Tsuji, Alec Gillis, Tom Woodruff Jr., Shane Mahan, John Rosengrant, Lindsay MacGowen and Alan Scott
  • Discovering the Fantastic: A George Pal Centennial Celebration, 2008
    Hosted by Joe Dante, with Barbara Eden, Ann Robinson, Russ Tamblyn, Alan Young and Bob Baker
  • 40th Anniversary of “2001: A Space Odyssey,” 2008
    Hosted by Tom Hanks, with Keir Dullea, Gary Lockwood, Douglas Trumbull, Bruce Logan and Daniel Richter
  • Ray Harryhausen, 2004
  • George Romero, 2002
  • Lynn Spigel, Mad Science Make-Overs, 2000
  • John Dykstra, 1997
  • Rick Baker, 1993
  • Charles Champlin, 1992
  • Pierre Jenn, 1989
  • Joe Dante, 1987
  • Screening of “The Fantasy Film Worlds of George Pal,” 1986
  • Jim Henson, 1984
  • Richard Matheson, 1983
  • Carl Sagan, 1982
  • Ray Bradbury, 1980
Don't Show Again