Marvin Borowsky Lecture on Screenwriting

Paul Haggis

The Marvin Borowsky Lecture was the first of the Academy Foundation lectures to be established and was inaugurated in 1974. Marvin Borowsky was a screenwriter and later a professor of screenwriting at both UCLA and the University of Southern California. The lecture was endowed a few years after his death by his widow, Maxine, so that, as past Academy President Fay Kanin put it, “once a year this theater can be filled... with people who come together to hear an accomplished screenwriter review the challenges, the frustrations and, undoubtedly, the joys of the work.”

Marvin Borowsky Lectures

Susannah Grant, Ehren Kruger,
Andrew Marlowe, 2010.
John Sayles, 1987
Paul Haggis, 2006 Philip Dunne, 1985
Gary Ross, 2004 Lawrence Kasdan, 1984
Paul Schrader, 2001 Jay Presson Allen, 1982
Kevin Smith, 2000 Waldo Salt, 1981
Ron Bass, 1999 Carl Foreman, 1980
Richard LaGravenese, 1998 Richard Brooks, 1979
Nora Ephron, 1996 Billy Wilder and I.A.L. Diamond, 1977
Robert Towne, 1994 Eleanor Perry, 1976
Lowell Ganz and Babaloo Mandel, 1993 Robert Anderson, 1974
Alfred Uhry, 1992  
Bo Goldman, 1988  
Marvin Borowsky

Marvin Borowsky

Don't Show Again