Share |
39th Annual Student Academy Awards

39th Annual Student Academy Award Gold Medal Winners

The Academy, in partnership with The Charles Guggenheim Center for the Documentary Film and the Foundation for the National Archives, presented this year’s Student Academy Award gold medal winners on Wednesday, June 27 at 7 p.m. This screening was held in the William G. McGowan Theater of the National Archives Building in Washington, DC.

The winners, 13 students representing 12 colleges and universities, were announced at a June 9 ceremony at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. 

The Student Academy Awards, established in 1972, support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar nominations (individual or collaborative), directed two films that received the Academy Award for Foreign Language Film, received a Special Achievement Oscar, and won or shared eight Academy Awards.

This year's Gold Medal winners are:

The Reality Clock (7 minutes)
Amanda Tasse, University of Southern California

Eyrie (4 minutes)
David Wolter, California Institute of the Arts

Hiro: A Story of Japanese Internment (29 minutes)
Keiko Wright, New York University

Under (23 minutes)
Mark Raso, Columbia University

For Elsie (23 minutes)
David Winstone, University of Westminster (United Kingdom)

Willie Waffle, syndicated film critic, will host the screening. Waffle appears regularly on DC50-TV and on over 30 radio stations across the country, including WMZQ-FM.
Note: Some films may not be appropriate for general audiences.

For more information, visit

Event Information

June 27, 2012
William G. McGowan Theater
National Archives Building
Washington, DC.
Don't Show Again