Share |
39th Annual Student Academy Awards

Actors Laura Dern, Cuba Gooding Jr., Greg Kinnear and Mena Suvari to present

One of the Academy’s most popular annual events is the Student Academy Awards ceremony, which honors outstanding student filmmakers from across the country and abroad.

This year’s winners will follow in some formidable footsteps. Past Student Academy Award winners have earned 45 Oscar nominations (individual or collaborative), directed two films that received the Academy Award for Foreign Language Film, received a Special Achievement Oscar, and won or shared eight Academy Awards. Spike Lee, Robert Zemeckis, John Lasseter, Pete Docter and Trey Parker are among the Student Academy Award winners who went on to prominent filmmaking careers.

Awards were presented in five categories: alternative, animation, documentary, foreign and narrative. The finalists were announced in advance, but their placement – gold, silver or bronze medal – was not revealed until the June 9 ceremony. Notable Academy members served as presenters, and clips from each of the winning films were shown. Following the awards presentation, the gold medal-winning films were screened in their entirety.

Event Information

June 9, 2012
Samuel Goldwyn Theater
Don't Show Again