38th Annual Student Academy Awards

38th Student Academy Awards Winners

One of the Academy’s most popular annual events is the Student Academy Awards ceremony, which honors outstanding student filmmakers from across the country and internationally. Awards are presented in five categories: alternative, animation, documentary, foreign and narrative.

Since the program was established in 1972, Student Academy Award winners have earned 43 Oscar nominations (individual or collaborative), directed two films that received the Academy Award for Foreign Language Film, received a Special Achievement Oscar, and won or shared eight Academy Awards. Among the past Student Academy Award winners who have gone on to prominent careers as filmmakers are John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Spike Lee, Robert Zemeckis and Trey Parker. Three former Student Academy Award winners were 2010 Oscar nominees – Lasseter received his sixth nomination for the Adapted Screenplay for “Toy Story 3,” and two 2010 Student Academy Award winners were nominated in the Live Action Short Film category, Luke Matheny and Tanel Toom. Matheny’s “God of Love” became just the fourth Student Award-winning film to go on to win an Oscar.

Notable Academy members served as presenters at the June 11 ceremony including director and Oscar®-winning producer Edward Zwick, actress Jennifer Garner, Oscar®-nominated animator and director John Musker, and Academy President Tom Sherak. Clips from the silver and bronze medal-winning films were shown, and following the awards presentation, the gold medal-winning films were screened in their entirety.

For more information and highlights from this year’s awards, visit the Student Academy Awards page.

Share |

Image Gallery

View image gallery
Don't Show Again