The Hunt for Red October

Sean Connery

Panel discussion hosted by film historian and author Eric Lichtenfeld

“A great day, comrades. We sail into history!” – Captain Marko Ramius

The Science and Technology Council’s “Prime Tech” series celebrated the 20th anniversary of John McTiernan’s “The Hunt for Red October” with the premiere of a newly struck 35mm print from Paramount Pictures, and an onstage discussion with members of the film’s crew.

A sophisticated and finely crafted Cold War thriller based on Tom Clancy’s debut novel, “The Hunt for Red October” won the Academy Award for Sound Effects Editing and was nominated for Film Editing and Sound.

The films stars Sean Connery as Marko Ramius, a renegade Soviet nuclear submarine commander who may be trying to defect. Alec Baldwin co-stars as Jack Ryan, the young CIA analyst racing to intercept Ramius before Soviet and American forces blow him out of the water.

Several key members of the film’s crew gathered for an onstage discussion of the role motion picture science and technology played in shaping “The Hunt for Red October.”

Cast Sean Connery (Marko Ramius), Alec Baldwin (Jack Ryan), Joss Ackland (Andrei Lysenko), Tim Curry (Dr. Petrov), Peter Firth (Ivan Putin), Scott Glenn (Bart Mancuso), James Earl Jones (Admiral Greer), Jeffrey Jones (Skip Tyler), Richard Jordan (Jeffrey Pelt), Sam Neill (Captain Borodin), Stellan SkarsgÄrd (Captain Tupolev), Fred Dalton Thompson (Admiral Painter), Courtney B. Vance (Seaman Jones), Tomas Arana (Loginov), Timothy Carhart (Bill Steiner), Daniel Davis (Captain Davenport), Anatoly Davydov (Officer), Rick Ducommun (Navigator C-2A), Larry Ferguson (Chief of the Boat), Ronald Guttman (Lt. Melekhin), Christopher Janczar (Andrei Bonovia), Anthony Peck (Lt. Comm. Thompson), Ned Vaughn (Seaman Beaumont).

Directed by John McTiernan. Produced by Mace Neufeld. Screenplay Larry Ferguson, Donald Stewart. Based on the novel by Tom Clancy. Cinematography Jan De Bont. Film Editing Dennis Virkler, John Wright. Production Design Terence Marsh. Art Direction Dianne Wager, Donald Woodruff, William Cruse. Set Decoration Mickey S. Michaels. Costume Supervisor James W. Tyson. Makeup Wes Dawn, James R. Kail. Music Basil Poledouris. Production Sound Mixer Richard Bryce Goodman. Rerecording Mixers Don Bassman, Richard Overton, Kevin F. Cleary, Gary Rogers. Supervising Sound Editors Cecelia Hall, George Watters II. Sound Editors John Benson, Larry Carow, Bruce Fortune, Frank Howard, F. Hudson Miller, R.J. Palmer, Bruce Richardson, Mary Ruth Smith, Beth Sterner. Visual Effects Supervisor Scott Squires. Paramount Pictures. 1990. 134 minutes. Print courtesy of Paramount Pictures.

The “Prime Tech” screening series showcases Oscar-nominated and winning films that have been recognized in at least one technical category. Panel discussions illuminate the art of filmmaking from a science and technology perspective, examining how technical elements can augment a film’s narrative capabilities and enrich the overall viewing experience.

Event Information

Thursday, March 18, at 7:30 p.m.
Linwood Dunn Theater
1313 Vine Street
Hollywood, CA 90028

Academy Awards Facts

Academy Award Winner

Sound Effects Editing (Cecelia Hall, George Watters II)

Academy Award Nominee

Film Editing (Dennis Virkler, John Wright)
Sound (Don Bassman, Richard Overton, Kevin F. Cleary, Richard Bryce Goodman)

Mace Neufeld, John McTiernan, Richard Bryce Goodman, George Watters II, Cecelia Hall, John Wright, Dennis Virkler, Eric Lichtenfeld and Barry Weiss

Producer Mace Neufeld, director John McTiernan, production sound mixer Richard Bryce Goodman, supervising sound editor George Watters II, supervising sound editors Cecelia Hall, film editor John Wright, film editor Dennis Virkler, film historian and author Eric Lichtenfeld and Barry Weiss, chairman of Public Programs and Education for the Science and Technology Council.

Don't Show Again