Academy Film Scholars Program

2013 Academy Film Scholars Laurence Kardish and James Naremore

To stimulate and support new and significant works of film scholarship, the Academy Film Scholars program awards grants of $25,000 to two individuals each year.

Established scholars, writers and historians are awarded grants to research topics that may include cultural, educational, historical, theoretical or scientific aspects of theatrical motion pictures.

A ceremony is held each year to honor the selected Scholars, and each Scholar presents his or her projects or findings in a lecture at the Academy following the completion of their work.

Academy Film Scholar Applications

The application form for the 2014 grant cycle is available. Please visit the How To Apply page to read the program guidelines and start an application. The deadline for submissions is October 1, 2014.

How to apply

Academy Film Scholars

2013 Academy Film Scholars Announced

The life and career of vanguard independent filmmaker Shirley Clarke and the socially conscious films of Charles Burnett will be the topics explored by Laurence Kardish and James O. Naremore, respectively, who have been named 2013 Academy Film Scholars by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

See a complete list of Academy Film Scholars

Don't Show Again