Scientific & Technical Awards

Scientific and technical achievement is awarded on three levels: Technical Achievement Award (certificate), Scientific and Engineering Award (bronze tablet) and Academy Award of Merit (Oscar statuette).

The Gordon E. Sawyer award, an Oscar statuette, was established in 1981. The Medal of Commendation was first given in 1977, and in 1977 the Academy’s Board of Governors voted to name the award in honor of sound engineer John A. Bonner.

Gordon E. Sawyer Award

The Gordon E. Sawyer Award is presented to an individual in the motion picture industry whose technological contributions have brought credit to the industry. More

John A. Bonner Medal of Commendation

The John A. Bonner Medal of Commendation is given in appreciation for outstanding service and dedication in upholding the high standards of the Academy. More

Technical Achievement Award

The Technical Achievement Award recognizes accomplishments that contribute to the progress of the industry. More

Scientific & Engineering Award

The Scientific & Engineering Award acknowledges an achievement that has had a definite influence on the advancement of the industry. More

Don't Show Again