Oscar Legacy
Share |

The 26th Academy Awards (1954) Nominees and Winners

Held at the RKO Pantages Theatre on Thursday, March 25, 1954,
honoring movies released in 1953.

Master of ceremonies Donald O'Connor on stage at the RKO Pantages Theatre.

Master of ceremonies Donald O’Connor onstage at the RKO Pantages Theatre.


  • Marlon Brando in "Julius Caesar"
  • Richard Burton in "The Robe"
  • Montgomery Clift in "From Here to Eternity"
  • William Holden in "Stalag 17"
  • Burt Lancaster in "From Here to Eternity"

Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Eddie Albert in "Roman Holiday"
  • Brandon De Wilde in "Shane"
  • Jack Palance in "Shane"
  • Frank Sinatra in "From Here to Eternity"
  • Robert Strauss in "Stalag 17"


  • Leslie Caron in "Lili"
  • Ava Gardner in "Mogambo"
  • Audrey Hepburn in "Roman Holiday"
  • Deborah Kerr in "From Here to Eternity"
  • Maggie McNamara in "The Moon Is Blue"

Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Grace Kelly in "Mogambo"
  • Geraldine Page in "Hondo"
  • Marjorie Rambeau in "Torch Song"
  • Donna Reed in "From Here to Eternity"
  • Thelma Ritter in "Pickup on South Street"

Art Direction (Black-and-White)

  • "Julius Caesar" Art Direction: Cedric Gibbons, Edward Carfagno; Set Decoration: Edwin B. Willis, Hugh Hunt
  • "Martin Luther" Art Direction: Fritz Maurischat, Paul Markwitz
  • "The President's Lady" Art Direction: Lyle Wheeler, Leland Fuller; Set Decoration: Paul S. Fox
  • "Roman Holiday" Art Direction: Hal Pereira, Walter Tyler
  • "Titanic" Art Direction: Lyle Wheeler, Maurice Ransford; Set Decoration: Stuart Reiss

Art Direction (Color)

  • "Knights of the Round Table" Art Direction: Alfred Junge, Hans Peters; Set Decoration: John Jarvis
  • "Lili" Art Direction: Cedric Gibbons, Paul Groesse; Set Decoration: Edwin B. Willis, Arthur Krams
  • "The Robe" Art Direction: Lyle Wheeler, George W. Davis; Set Decoration: Walter M. Scott, Paul S. Fox
  • "The Story of Three Loves" Art Direction: Cedric Gibbons, Preston Ames, Edward Carfagno, Gabriel Scognamillo; Set Decoration: Edwin B. Willis, Keogh Gleason, Arthur Krams, Jack D. Moore
  • "Young Bess" Art Direction: Cedric Gibbons, Urie McCleary; Set Decoration: Edwin B. Willis, Jack D. Moore

Cinematography (Black-and-White)

  • "The Four Poster" Hal Mohr
  • "From Here to Eternity" Burnett Guffey
  • "Julius Caesar" Joseph Ruttenberg
  • "Martin Luther" Joseph C. Brun
  • "Roman Holiday" Frank Planer, Henri Alekan

Cinematography (Color)

  • "All the Brothers Were Valiant" George Folsey
  • "Beneath the 12-Mile Reef" Edward Cronjager
  • "Lili" Robert Planck
  • "The Robe" Leon Shamroy
  • "Shane" Loyal Griggs

Costume Design (Black-and-White)

  • "The Actress" Walter Plunkett
  • "Dream Wife" Helen Rose, Herschel McCoy
  • "From Here to Eternity" Jean Louis
  • "The President's Lady" Charles LeMaire, Renie
  • "Roman Holiday" Edith Head

Costume Design (Color)

  • "The Band Wagon" Mary Ann Nyberg
  • "Call Me Madam" Irene Sharaff
  • "How to Marry a Millionaire" Charles LeMaire, Travilla
  • "The Robe" Charles LeMaire, Emile Santiago
  • "Young Bess" Walter Plunkett


  • "From Here to Eternity" Fred Zinnemann
  • "Lili" Charles Walters
  • "Roman Holiday" William Wyler
  • "Shane" George Stevens
  • "Stalag 17" Billy Wilder

Documentary (Feature)

  • "The Conquest of Everest" John Taylor, Leon Clore and Grahame Tharp, Producers
  • "The Living Desert" Walt Disney, Producer
  • "A Queen Is Crowned" Castleton Knight, Producer

Documentary (Short Subject)

  • "The Alaskan Eskimo" Walt Disney, Producer
  • "The Living City" John Barnes, Producer
  • "Operation Blue Jay" United States Army Signal Corps
  • "They Planted a Stone" James Carr, Producer
  • "The Word" John Healy and John Adams, Producers

Film Editing

  • "Crazylegs" Irvine (Cotton) Warburton
  • "From Here to Eternity" William Lyon
  • "The Moon Is Blue" Otto Ludwig
  • "Roman Holiday" Robert Swink
  • "The War of the Worlds" Everett Douglas

Music (Music Score of a Dramatic or Comedy Picture)

  • "Above and Beyond" Hugo Friedhofer
  • "From Here to Eternity" Morris Stoloff, George Duning
  • "Julius Caesar" Miklos Rozsa
  • "Lili" Bronislau Kaper
  • "This Is Cinerama" Louis Forbes

Music (Scoring of a Musical Picture)

  • "The Band Wagon" Adolph Deutsch
  • "Calamity Jane" Ray Heindorf
  • "Call Me Madam" Alfred Newman
  • "The 5,000 Fingers of Dr. T" Frederick Hollander, Morris Stoloff
  • "Kiss Me Kate" Andre Previn, Saul Chaplin

Music (Song)

  • "The Moon Is Blue" from "The Moon Is Blue" Music by Herschel Burke Gilbert; Lyrics by Sylvia Fine
  • "My Flaming Heart" from "Small Town Girl" Music by Nicholas Brodszky; Lyrics by Leo Robin
  • "Sadie Thompson's Song (Blue Pacific Blues)" from "Miss Sadie Thompson" Music by Lester Lee; Lyrics by Ned Washington
  • "Secret Love" from "Calamity Jane" Music by Sammy Fain; Lyrics by Paul Francis Webster
  • "That's Amore" from "The Caddy" Music by Harry Warren; Lyrics by Jack Brooks

Best Motion Picture

  • "From Here to Eternity" Buddy Adler, Producer
  • "Julius Caesar" John Houseman, Producer
  • "The Robe" Frank Ross, Producer
  • "Roman Holiday" William Wyler, Producer
  • "Shane" George Stevens, Producer

Short Subject (Cartoon)

  • "Christopher Crumpet" Stephen Bosustow, Producer
  • "From A to Z-Z-Z-Z" Edward Selzer, Producer
  • "Rugged Bear" Walt Disney, Producer
  • "The Tell Tale Heart" Stephen Bosustow, Producer
  • "Toot, Whistle, Plunk and Boom" Walt Disney, Producer

Short Subject (One-reel)

  • "Christ among the Primitives" Vincenzo Lucci-Chiarissi, Producer
  • "Herring Hunt" National Film Board of Canada
  • "Joy of Living" Boris Vermont, Producer
  • "The Merry Wives of Windsor Overture" Johnny Green, Producer
  • "Wee Water Wonders" Jack Eaton, Producer

Short Subject (Two-reel)

  • "Bear Country" Walt Disney, Producer
  • "Ben and Me" Walt Disney, Producer
  • "Return to Glennascaul" Dublin Gate Theatre Productions
  • "Vesuvius Express" Otto Lang, Producer
  • "Winter Paradise" Cedric Francis, Producer

Sound Recording

  • "Calamity Jane" Warner Bros. Studio Sound Department, William A. Mueller, Sound Director
  • "From Here to Eternity" Columbia Studio Sound Department, John P. Livadary, Sound Director
  • "Knights of the Round Table" Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studio Sound Department, A. W. Watkins, Sound Director
  • "The Mississippi Gambler" Universal-International Studio Sound Department, Leslie I. Carey, Sound Director
  • "The War of the Worlds" Paramount Studio Sound Department, Loren L. Ryder, Sound Director

Special Effects

  • "The War of the Worlds" Paramount Studio

Writing (Motion Picture Story)

  • "Above and Beyond" Beirne Lay, Jr.
  • "The Captain's Paradise" Alec Coppel
  • "Little Fugitive" Ray Ashley, Morris Engel, Ruth Orkin
  • "Roman Holiday" Dalton Trumbo

Writing (Screenplay)

  • "The Cruel Sea" Eric Ambler
  • "From Here to Eternity" Daniel Taradash
  • "Lili" Helen Deutsch
  • "Roman Holiday" Ian McLellan Hunter, John Dighton
  • "Shane" A. B. Guthrie, Jr.

Writing (Story and Screenplay)

  • "The Band Wagon" Betty Comden, Adolph Green
  • "The Desert Rats" Richard Murphy
  • "The Naked Spur" Sam Rolfe, Harold Jack Bloom
  • "Take the High Ground" Millard Kaufman
  • "Titanic" Charles Brackett, Walter Reisch, Richard Breen

  • Star indicates a win.
Don't Show Again