Special Achievement Award

Ben Burtt and Star Wars cast

The Special Achievement Award, an Oscar statuette, can be given for an outstanding contribution to a particular movie when there is no annual award category that applies to the contribution.

The Special Achievement Award was instituted in 1972; since then, 18 have been given. Most of the Special Achievement Awards have been given for visual effects and sound effects editing during years in which those were not necessarily annual awards. Special Achievement Awards could have also been given for makeup achievements prior the establishment of an annual makeup category, but none ever were.

The four instances it has otherwise been awarded are:

  • In 1977, to Benjamin Burtt, Jr., for the creation of the alien, creature and robot voices featured in “Star Wars.”
  • In 1979, to Alan Splet for sound editing of “The Black Stallion.”
  • In 1988, to Richard Williams for the animation direction of “Who Framed Roger Rabbit.”
  • In 1995, to John Lasseter, for his inspired leadership of the Pixar “Toy Story” team, resulting in the first feature-length computer-animated film.

John Lasseter

John Lasseter received a Special Achievement Award in 1995 for his work on “Toy Story.”

Don't Show Again