mtvU Student Correspondent Contest

2010 mtvU Correspondent Contest Winners Luz Pena and Philip Robibero

Grand Prize Winners Announced

2011 mtvU Contest Winners

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and mtvU, MTV's 24-hour college network, announced that Luz Pena and Philip Robibero from Hofstra University are the Grand Prize winners for the "Oscars Correspondent Contest." As part of their prize, they have earned a spot on the red carpet for the 83rd Academy Awards® arrivals tomorrow, February 27, and will have access to the backstage press rooms and the Governors Ball. Oscar® coverage from the winning team will be posted on and the week of February 28.

"Luz and Philip made a strong impression with the Academy selection panel and the online voters. I know they will represent the college community well," said Academy President Tom Sherak. "They are in for an unforgettable experience – the red carpet at the Oscars is like no place else on earth."

"There is no surprise that Hofstra University continues to develop amazing talent and Luz and Philip absolutely delivered this year," said Carlo DiMarco, Vice President of Strategic Partnerships at mtvU. "We're excited that, along with the Academy, we were once again able to offer this incredible experience and look forward to continuing our commitment to providing college students engaging contests with unparalleled rewards."

About the Contest

The Academy® and mtvU, MTV’s 24-hour college network, created the “Oscar® Correspondent Contest” to give college journalists nationwide the chance to head to Los Angeles to cover red carpet festivities and backstage celebrations at the Academy Awards. Teams of two U.S. college students, one correspondent and one videographer, are invited to create a video showcasing their broadcast journalism skills and telling us why they should be chosen to represent the college community at the Academy Awards.

The Winners

Luz Pena and Philip Robibero
Hofstra University

Visit to see Luz and Philip's coverage of the 83rd Academy Awards!

Photo Slideshow

mtvU Students at the Hair and Makeup artist event at the Academy headquarters in Beverly Hills.
  • The Runners-Up

    • Blake Mitchell and David Torcivia
      University of Georgia
    • Sarah Erickson and Joel Kutz
    Don't Show Again