History & Organization of the Academy

Academy Headquarters
Annette Bening 9th Academy Awards Ceremony Gregory Peck

Founded in 1927 by 36 of the most influential men and women in the motion picture industry at the time, the Academy is an honorary membership organization whose ranks now include more than 6,000 artists and professionals.

Dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of motion pictures, the Academy's corporate management and general policies are overseen by a Board of Governors, which includes representatives from each of the craft branches.

Academy History

Old Academy Headquarters

The Academy's founding members included Louis B. Mayer, Douglas Fairbanks Sr., Harold Lloyd, Mary Pickford, Cecil B. DeMille, Irving Thalberg and Jesse Lasky. More

Academy Board and Branches


Meet the members of the Board of Governors and learn more about the 17 branches of the Academy.

Board of Governors

Foundation Board of Trustees


Don't Show Again